|
Author
|
Topic: T-One resale company
|
ellend TUG MemberPosts: 406 From: Essex, UK. Own at St Mellion UK; Vistana Resort, Orlando Registered: Feb 2002
|
posted 06-01-2005 10:40
This is more for UK TUGgers, as that is where the above company is based.Has anybody heard of T-One Online (www.t1online.net) or had any dealings with them? I have searched the archives but with no result. They contacted me within minutes of my telling RCI I wasn't renewing membership as I was going to sell my timeshares. No request for bank details or upfront money (until now). But a couple of weeks later, they have a buyer and want £495 for legal and admin fees. It struck me as a bit of a coincidence that this figure matches the amount in the How to Sell Your Timeshare article by DaveM, when he warns against paying anything upfront. They said the fee would be protected if I paid by credit card, so I checked with the credit card company and they said it depended on the wording of contract I had with them (even if it was a scam), which strikes me as a little to woolly to rely on. I have asked T-One to send me their paperwork, but while I'm waiting, thought I would ask the experts. TIA.
------------------ EllenD IP: Logged |
boyblue TUG MemberPosts: 424 From: Nassau, Bahamas Registered: Jul 2003
|
posted 06-01-2005 20:21
Sorry I can't help but Google them. Do you have the weeK advertised on TUG?------------------ A Toast: Champagne to our real friends & real pain to our sham friends. IP: Logged |
ellend TUG MemberPosts: 406 From: Essex, UK. Own at St Mellion UK; Vistana Resort, Orlando Registered: Feb 2002
|
posted 06-02-2005 08:52
Bruce in the UK very kindly checked this out for me and warned me off, so fortunately no damage done.One disturbing thing - they contacted me within minutes of my speaking to RCI, which made me wonder if they were connected and bona fide. Maybe someone there is tipping them off for potential targets - either legitimately or not? I did Google them, with no result. But they do have a website, with one of my weeks listed, so they are extremely plausible. ------------------ EllenD [This message has been edited by ellend (edited 06-02-2005).] IP: Logged |
timeos2 Moderator TUG VolunteerPosts: 2024 From: Rochester, NY : Cypress Pointe & Westgate VV, Orlando Fl;FF Kingsgate Williamsburg, VA(FF Pts);Cove @ Yarmouth, Cape Cod MA;Rayburn CC, TX-RCI Pts Registered: Dec 2000
|
posted 06-02-2005 09:16
The big red flag is them asking for money prior to the sale. If they were legit they would set up the sale and take their fee out of the proceeds with your agreement. The minute anyone wants money to complete the sale (other than a bonafide transfer agent you or the buyer picked) you know you have a scam working. You did the right thing to walk away. ------------------ John Chase Use Email Icon above for contact address IP: Logged |